Are you ashamed of any of your coins?

Posted (edited)

I've been collecting for 30 years, and while I have many decrepit coins, there's only a small handful of which I'm truly ashamed of.   I'm fully in the budget collector class, and I only had a small budget for a very long time.  My coin budget is larger than ever before, but with the price inflation of a Caesar portrait denarius, an example would be fairly tough to get; life gets in the way.  The bushes alone cost $1100 to trim.  It's almost impossible to get rid of brush; I had to spend $770 on a junk removal company.

Due to my lack of coin photography skills (which would probably be fixed if I could buy a pre-built stand for a cell phone), my pre-2008 collection (i.e. coins bought which featured a picture) are unphotographed, and given the massive amount of effort it would take to catalog and photograph them, probably never will be.

The Claudius Aureus is the first coin of shame.  Purchased circa 1997, ex-jewelry, it's VG and mushy.  I purchased an Aurelian double sestertius, honestly described as heavily tooled, from the same dealer, yet I don't really have any shame about that one.  It's my only known toolie, and as I don't participate in auctions, it's unlikely that one will ever show up in my price range at vcoins.

The second coin of shame is my only Julius Caesar portrait denarius.  I picked it up for $200-something in 2010 and while I was quite excited about my budget purchase at the time (it got me in the door of JC portraits), alas, it's probably one of the worst known.  The price was certainly not bad.  For the price, it should be one of the worst known.

julius92.jpg.4f9475235e4d7aec19fc58b672dee769.jpg

ULIUS CAESAR AR silver portrait denarius. Lifetime issue, struck Jan-Feb 44 BC. CAESAR DICT PERPETVO, Laureate head of Caesar right. Reverse - SEPVLLIVS MACER, Venus standing right holding Victory and scepter. RSC 41, RCV 1414. 17mm, 3.1g. Very worn, several small surface scratches.